011211: Books like Jell-o Shots

Napped this afternoon! What a luxury.

OK, so someone has resolved to be healed of her (sartorial) shopping addiction, but meanwhile, has amassed quite a book haul for this month. In my defense, I can say that I DID announce that my banner for 2012 is “less pose, more prose.” uhuh. I know I’d be gloating but my wallet needs to keep up with my rate of finishing one book in a span of four days / a week. Uhuh. But what the hey, I know it’s pretty easy for times for now and I just am seizing the opportunity. Yeah that’s it.

I’m hitting myself in my head because my softy heart gave out and now I’m worrying simultaneously about writing deadlines AND final details for my school project shoot this weekend. (HAHA). I said NO WORK WORRIES this week! Tsk. That, and the fact that my vacation is threatening to turn into a big joke wherein I push through with my trip but I can’t enjoy it because I worry about school every single minute. It feels me with dread imagining it – dread because what if I don’t deliver?

But at the same time, I’m chiding my doubtful and overtly pessimistic heart. I mean, what if the devil is simply implanting this doubt in my heart, and making me believe less about God’s provision and his promise that I should never have to worry if I do everything by his faith? So. Yeah. Uhuh. God – I’m offering up this play and this vacation to you. I’ll do my best and I know that you would not desert me. Grant me with a strong and gracious heart to fulfill the tasks at hand, and to be sensible! Give me the desire to serve my neighbors with joy, as you have loved those who lived around you!

Anyway, here’s a summary of that photo:

1. Touchpoints and Our Daily Bread – continuing with the conviction to start my day, everyday, with the word. Touchpoints for those moments when I need immediate, comforting answers.

2. By Nightfall by Michael Cunningham – only halfway through this. I’m depressingly reading through the text and seeing Cunningham’s spaced-out, planted, gay notes (i.e. describing a young man’s torso, in the eyes of a married man? like that?) OR what if the protagonist will turn out gay? I’m sounding quite a bigot here, so I’ll stop.

3. The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht – I was piqued because it’s a literary winner – and she’s only 27! It’s a beautiful fable that’s surprisingly modern. I think 2011 was a great year for novels.

4. A Visit From The Goon Squad by Jen Egan – is now in my top 10 list of favorite books. I LOVED this. It’s nostalgic and sentimental but not mushy and emotional. Do you get that? It’s amazing. It’s a decoupage of characters. It’s heartbreaking. It kind of made me cry.

5. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood – finally tracked down this one, the first of her novels which gained wide acclaim. I’m supposed to be a diehard now because I loved everything I’ve read from her so far, so now I’m bent on reading as much of her books as possible. I wanted to do that with Murakami, but after 1q84 (his latest) I had the undeniable feeling that I’d be in for more of the same if I backtrack through his literary roster…

6. Amapola sa 65 na Kabanata ni Ricky Lee – bought this afternoon. So much for “strategic shopping.” My  inner shopaholic found a loophole. But hey, it’s Filipino lit. It’s a from a screenwriter. It can inspire me to write my future film projects (speaking of which, I’m perenially panicking about the one I’m working on right now). I read through two chapters and it’s seriously funny. I hope that for all the cultural puns Ricky Lee will have a story underneath this – well I’m sure he’ll have. I’m saving it for the trip – you know, airports, queues, et al. :p

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.